Annual Musikavanhu High School Essay Contest

in partnership with the Musikavanhu family and Wellesley Public Schools

In 2018 the Musikavanhu family established an annual high school essay contest to encourage students to share their perspectives on defeating racism.

2020 Essay Prompts

  1. Why Everyone (Conservative, Liberal or Otherwise) Needs to Unite In Defeating Racism In America.
  2. The COVID-19 Pandemic Is Shown to Be Proportionately Affecting People of Color In America. In addition, Ahmaud Arbery, An Unarmed Young African American Was Shot and Killed While Jogging:  If You Were In a Position of Leadership, What Policies Would You Support That Would Stop The Disproportionate Effect of these Two Plagues of COVID19 and Racially Motivated Violence on People of Color in America?


Students are marked and potentially awarded, regardless of the conclusions they come to, per se, on the following:

  • Thoroughness and accuracy of the research into the topic;
  • Clarity of reasoning and presentation of the data, opinion and facts unearthed by the research process; and
  • The practicality of solutions and actions to be undertaken by the student in ensuring that the following from the US Declaration of Independence “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness” can be implemented to the elimination of racism in the Union, and in time, the world beyond.


Recognition for 1st, 2nd and 3rd places receive Gold, Silver or Bronze medal certificates and the respective monetary awards of $500, $300 and $200. The 4th and 5th  placed participants will receive commendation with no certificate or monetary reward. Awards are presented at the Wellesley High School Senior/Underclassmen Awards evenings.

5th Grade Equity Project

Congratulations to Our Winners


Aaron Lai – 1st

Taryn Lane – 2nd

Julia Pekowitz – 3rd

Lauren Kim – 4th

Yuhan (Claire) Liu – 5th


Sadhana Mandala—1st

Sierra Sinclair—2nd

Taryn Lane—3rd


Jennifer Guo—1st

Kay Rideo—2nd

Carina Coelho—3rd (tie)

Clementine Starck—3rd (tie)

Thank You!

We appreciate every student who participates in this essay program. Thanks you for sharing your reflections. We enjoy reading all of your essays!